Beagle / Dog Amigurumi (Crochet free pattern)

Hello snoop dog!

A friend of mine was keen on having a beagle made for him, and I was more than excited to start a new amigurumi crochet project. When I looked for patterns online, the one I liked had a paid pattern. Um, with all the time I had at hand I thought why not write one myself. That’s how it took about a month for this baby beagle to be formed.

Hook size: 2.5 mm

Color : Brown, White & Black

Beagle / Dog Amigurumi (Crochet free pattern)

Starting with brown colored yarn

Head:
Round 1: Magic Circle, 6sc into the circle & then pull it close. (6)
Round 2: 2sc in sc around. (12)
Round 3: [sc in the sc, 2sc in the next sc] * 6 times. (18)
Round 4: [sc in the next 2sc, 2sc in the next sc] * 6 times. (24)
Round 5: [sc in the next 3sc, 2sc in the next sc] * 6 times. (30)
Round 6: [sc in the next 4sc, 2sc in the next sc] * 6 times. (36)
Round 7: [sc in the next 5sc, 2sc in the next sc] * 6 times. (42)
Round 8: sc around. (42)
Round 9: [sc in the next 6sc, 2sc in the next sc] * 6 times. (48)
Round 10: sc around. (48)
Round 11: (brown) [sc in the next 7sc]
(White) [2sc in the next sc, sc in the next 2sc]
(brown) [sc in the next 5sc, 2sc in the next]
[sc in the next 7sc, 2sc in the next sc] * 4 times. (54)
Round 12: (brown) [sc in the next 7sc]
(White) [sc in the next 4sc]
(brown) sc around. (54)
Round 13: (brown) [sc in the next 6sc]
(White) [sc in the next 6sc]
(brown) sc around. (54)
Round 14: (brown) [sc in the next 6sc]
(White) [sc in the next 6sc]
(brown) sc around. (54)
Round 15: (brown) [sc in the next 6sc]
(White) [sc in the next 6sc]
(brown) sc around. (54)
Round 16: (brown) [sc in the next 7sc, dec in the next 2sc] * 6 times. (48)
Round 17: sc around. (48)
Round 18: (brown) [sc in the next 6sc, dec in the next 2sc] * 6 times. (42)
Round 19: (brown) [sc in the next 5sc, dec in the next 2sc] * 6 times. (36)
Round 20: (brown) [sc in the next 4sc, dec in the next 2sc] * 6 times. (30)
Round 21: (brown) [sc in the next 3sc, dec in the next 2sc] * 6 times. (24)
Round 22: (brown) [sc in the next 2sc, dec in the next 2sc] * 6 times. (18)
Round 23: (brown) [1sc , dec in the next 2sc] * 6 times. (12)
Round 24: (brown) dec every 2sc around. (6)
Stuff the head. Finish off.

Muzzle:
Chain 7.
Round 1: Starting from the second chain from the hook sc in the next 5sc, 3sc in the last
5 sc, 3 sc in the last. (16)
Round 2: sc(5), 2sc, sc, 2sc, sc(5), 2sc, sc, 2sc. (20)
Round 3: sc(6), 2sc, sc, 2sc, sc(7), 2sc, sc, 2sc, sc. (24)
Round 4: sc(7), 2sc, sc, 2sc, sc(9), 2sc, sc, 2sc, sc(2). (28)
Round 5: sc(8), 2sc, sc, 2sc, sc(11), 2sc, sc, 2sc, sc(3). (32)
Round 6: sc around. (32)
Round 7: sc(9), 2sc, sc, 2sc, sc(13), 2sc, sc, 2sc, sc(4). (36)
Round 8: sc(10), 2sc, sc, 2sc, sc(15), 2sc, sc, 2sc, sc(5). (40)
I’ve used yarn for his nose and mouth you can buy them directly from the store if you want.
Stuff the muzzle and attach it to the head.

Ears:
Chain 5.
Round 1: Starting from the second chain from the hook sc in the next 3sc, 3sc in the last
3 sc, 3 sc in the last. (12)
Round 2: sc(3), 2sc, sc, 2sc, sc(3), 2sc, sc, 2sc. (16)
Round 3: sc(4), 2sc, sc, 2sc, sc(5), 2sc, sc, 2sc, sc. (20)
Round 4: sc(5), 2sc, sc, 2sc, sc(7), 2sc, sc, 2sc, sc(2). (24)
Round 5: sc around. (24)
Round 6: sc(5), dec, sc, dec, sc(7), dec, sc, dec, sc(2). (20)
Round 7: sc around. (20)
Round 8: sc(4), dec, sc, dec, sc(5), dec, sc, dec, sc. (16)
Round 9: sc around. (16)
Round 10: sc around. (16)
Round 11: sc(4), 2sc, sc, 2sc, sc(5), 2sc, sc, 2sc, sc. (20)
Round 12: sc(5), 2sc, sc, 2sc, sc(7), 2sc, sc, 2sc, sc(2). (24)
Round 13: sc(6), 2sc, sc, 2sc, sc(9), 2sc, sc, 2sc, sc(3). (28)
Round 14: sc around. (28)
Round 15: sc around. (28)
Round 16: sc(6), dec, sc, dec, sc(9), dec, sc, dec, sc(3). (24)
Round 17: sc around. (24)
Stuff and fix it to the head.

You now have the beagle dog’s head out of which you can make key chains, or other tags.

Beagle Amigurimi ( Crochet Free Pattern)

I’ve decided that this post is long enough on it’s own and Β the rest of the pattern needs another post. Free pattern for beagle’s body and arms are on it’s way. Until then, here’s a sneak peak of him munching treats.

Beagle Amigurumi (Crochet Free Pattern)

I finally got around to doing the beagle’s body, and here it is.
Beagle Amigurumi

16 thoughts on “Beagle / Dog Amigurumi (Crochet free pattern)

  1. Raffaela Broeer says:

    I love your pattern, but now I am struggling with the body “white” decreases –
    the one side shows correct like a triangle decrease, but the other decrease goes into the wrong direction. Seems I am not too good in crotcheting yet. What am I doing wrong?
    I woukd appreciate to learn from your experience. Looked at your facebook site, it is marvellous what you are creating. Thanks for sharing
    kindest regards Raffaela

    Like

    • Divssy says:

      Thanks Raffaela, you are too kind with your compliments. I am a newbie at crochet and pattern writing and I may have got it down wrong. Can you let me know which round is giving you trouble so I can rework and tell you what’s wrong with with it. Thanks again.

      Like

      • Raffaela Broeer says:

        Hello again, actually I was keen hearing from you and you made it happen on return -thanks
        I am talking about BODY from round 16 onwards when starting the decreases -I suppose the white belly should decrease from both ends like a triangle, but when starting 9 sc, dec -resulting in dec at the last white sc within the round, and the dec at the beginning of white is in brown sc only.
        May be I am doing wrong when changing the colours? i.e. for last sc in brown I fetch the last loop already in white-
        Anyway, even if it will not be perfect it looks cute already now.
        Meanwhile I am going on with legs and arms –

        Like

      • Divssy says:

        I am so sorry. Hope you haven’t made much progress with its body. I do not know why I have such a crazy pattern on my blog. I just checked with my notebook and they don’t seem to match at all. I should have checked properly when I replied to you earlier. I’ll make the edit and reply to you right away. Sorry again.

        Like

      • Divssy says:

        I’ve made the changes, hope it works now. I remember having trouble changing colors too, but I managed to make it appear as seamless as possible. I would be able to explain that part clearly if I could get hold of my yarn and hook, but I’m on vacation back at India. I’m sure you’d work it out. Good luck!

        Like

      • Raffaela Broeer says:

        I tried my best , will post a foto thru facebook, here I coudn’t
        Thanks again
        regards Raffaela

        Like

      • Divssy says:

        Sorry you had to put up with a not so right pattern of mine. I’ll make sure I ask someone else to proofread before writing it up here on my blog. Thanks! πŸ˜€

        Like

  2. ulya says:

    Hi there. Thanks for your free pattern. I just have one question. Which color of yarn should I start the muzzle and on which round should i switch it with other color? thanks a lot

    Like

    • Divssy says:

      Hi Ulya, thanks!
      I’ve just used white colored yarn for the muzzle, and when I was done with it, with the stuffing and sewing it to he head done I made little triangle shaped nose and attached it to the muzzle. Hope I cleared your doubt! πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

