Amigurumi elephant – Crochet free pattern

Hello my lil jumbo elephant!

Processed with VSCOcam with m3 preset

It’s been so long since I blogged about my crochet/stitching ventures trust me I’ve been going through a lot of changes in life although crafting kept me company I couldn’t find time to blog about it. (Instead of excusing myself every time I must just admit I’m too lazy to properly function and keep up to my goals, hmmmn!)

I’ve always wanted to make elephants since I started making cute animals although I still am not satisfied this is the one which is close to near perfection. I’m sure there will be an improvised elephant pattern coming up soon, till then please bear with this my lovely crocheters.

Crochet hook : 2.5mm

Starting with the elephants trunk and then proceeding to it’s head,

Round 1: Magic circle, 6sc in it. (6)
Round 2: [1sc in each sc] * 6 times (6)
:
Round 7: [1sc in each sc] * 6 times (6)
Round 8: 2sc in each sc around. (12)
Round 9: [sc in the sc, 2sc in the next sc] * 6 times. (18)
Round 10: sc in the next 6 sc, [sc in the sc, 2sc in the next sc] * 6 times. (24)
Round 11: slip stitch in the next 6 sc, [sc in the next 2 sc, 2sc in the next sc] * 6 times. (24 sc + 6 slip stitches)
Round 12: sc in the next 6 slip stitch, sc in each sc around. (30)
Round 13: [sc in the next 3sc, dec in the next 2sc] * 6 times. (24)
Round 14: sc in each sc around. (24)

You will now have the elephants head and trunk.

Elephant’s body is worked from the tail part to it’s neck

Round 1: Magic Circle, 6sc into the circle & then pull it close. (6)
Round 2: 2sc in each sc around. (12)
Round 3: [sc in the sc, 2sc in the next sc] * 6 times. (18)
Round 4: [sc in the next 2sc, 2sc in the next sc] * 6 times. (24)
Round 5: [sc in the next 3sc, 2sc in the next sc] * 6 times. (30)
Round 6: [sc in the next 4sc, 2sc in the next sc] * 6 times. (36)
Round 7: [sc in the next 5sc, 2sc in the next sc] * 6 times. (42)
Round 8: sc around. (42)
:
Round 12: sc around. (42)
Round 13: [sc in the next 5sc, dec in the next 2sc] * 6 times. (36)
Round 14: [sc in the next 4sc, dec in the next 2sc] * 6 times. (30)
Round 15: [sc in the next 3sc, dec in the next 2sc] * 6 times. (24)

Make four of these elephants legs,

Round 1: Magic Circle, 6sc into the circle & then pull it close. (6)
Round 2: 2sc in each sc around. (12)
Round 3: sc around. (Working in back loops only). (12)
Round 4: sc around. (12)
:
Round 8: sc around. (12)

Elephant amigurumi

Join all of the parts and voila you now have a tiny little elephant for yourself, or not yet you still have to make those ears. I didn’t like the way mine turned out so I’m not putting it down here. If any of you have a nice pattern for it feel free to write it down in the comments so it may be useful for everyone else who wants to crochet it.
Edits:
Well may be I’ll just put down the pattern for the ears, don’t blame me if they don’t look very pretty.

Round 1: Magic Circle, 6sc into the circle & then pull it close. (6)
Round 2: 2sc in each sc around. (12)
Round 3: [sc in the sc, 2sc in the next sc] * 6 times. (18)
Round 4: [sc in the next 2sc, 2sc in the next sc] * 6 times. (24)
Round 5: sc around (24)
:
Round 7: sc around (24)
I only sewed in the ends of the ears to the elephants body, so I was able to flap the ears from front to back. It looked somehow cinched, but pretty from the angle I took the picture from.
May the little lord ganesha’s blessings be with you all. Have a good day! 🙂

5 thoughts on “Amigurumi elephant – Crochet free pattern

  1. NanaJan says:

    Hey Divssy:

    FYI… I have to say that I have been searching for what seems like AGES to find
    ‘just the right’ elephant pattern. (I love to hand-make baby gifts :0) )

    When I came across yours, I was TOTALLY ELATED. It is, without question, the
    CUTEST LITTLE ELEPHANT I have come across. Period!

    Thanks for sharing your creation
    – you are wonderfully talented!!
    Hope I will get to see more of your ideas some day.
    All the Best,
    NanaJan
    Alberta, Canada

    Like

Leave a Reply

